Trust Us, It’s a Pleasure to Flash. (Week 15)

Our Runner-Up from last week was Alice Wilson. Here’s a little about her:

I’m a baker of all things sweet, a reader of all things angst and I try and get my writing somewhere in the middle. Oh and I occasionally knit animals.

es·cape  [ih-skeyp]   verb (used without object), es·caped, es·cap·ing. 1. to slip or get away, as from confinement or restraint; gain or regain liberty: to escape from jail. Synonyms: flee, abscond, decamp. 2. to slip away from pursuit or peril; avoid capture, punishment, or any threatened evil. 3. to issue from a confining enclosure, as a fluid. 4. to slip away; fade: The words escaped from memory. 5. Botany . (of an originally cultivated plant) to grow wild.

es·cape [ih-skeyp]
verb (used without object), es·caped, es·cap·ing.
1.
to slip or get away, as from confinement or restraint; gain or regain liberty: to escape from jail. Synonyms: flee, abscond, decamp.
2.
to slip away from pursuit or peril; avoid capture, punishment, or any threatened evil.
3.
to issue from a confining enclosure, as a fluid.
4.
to slip away; fade: The words escaped from memory.
5.
Botany . (of an originally cultivated plant) to grow wild.

 

 

 

 

 

All right, flashers! You have until Monday night at 11:59 (MST) to get your words in. Same rules, blah blah blah: 100-200 words and post your word count and twitter handle/website/FB.

If you like flashing and exercising your brain, please share and bring a friend with you when you flash. Spread the word on these great mental workouts. xoxo, Madi.

 

PS. Have y’all read Hello LAlaland yet??? 😀

3 thoughts on “Trust Us, It’s a Pleasure to Flash. (Week 15)

  1. @bonneycecily
    196 Words

    OMG!!!!!!!!!

    If I have to sit here for one more second and listen to these men tell me how gorgeous I am; I am going to scream. I know that I am beautiful and sexy but really I am not going home with any of them.

    Oh God! There he is again. I can sense him before he even enters the room. God I crave every inch of him. He has so much passion and desire in his eyes when he sees me. He makes me all tingly without even touching me!

    I need to find an excuse now so I can escape and meet up with him in our secret spot. Yes, before you say anything, he’s married and a very powerful man. Ask me if I care. Ummm… No!

    I know he will never leave his plain, boring, ugly well-bread wife for a gorgeous sexy movie star. I am 100% ok with that…maybe? We get, understand, and fulfill each other needs every change we get.

    I need a real man and the power that he holds is an added bonus. Sure, go ahead and call me a home wreaker, but let me explain first…..

    Like

  2. Anxiety flowed through my veins as I tried my surroundings. My bleeding cuticles did nothing for the manicure I had the day before. They were a mess.

    But my makeup was flawless. And for that my mother would be proud.

    Looking to the green eyes of my driver, I knew he could see I was breaking inside.

    “It’s a circus out there.” His voice held a hint of displeasure as he surveyed the scene surrounding our car. There was a swarm of men, cameras in their hands, trying to get a glimpse of me.

    Everyone just wanted a piece of me. Always.

    I felt like an animal in a cage. It wasn’t the first time that I could relate to the scared animals held captive in the zoo. Held captive in their jail.

    “I wish I could escape.” My voice was a whisper, but he heard.

    “I would take you anywhere.”

    “I know, and that’s why I love you.” I confessed with a smile as I opened my car door and the men stood ready to light my famous cigarette.

    I had to remember, I held the power.

    I was captive like the animals, but I was the lion.

    @TinsleyWarren
    Words: 199

    Like

  3. @chinchinunicorn
    200 words

    The flame in their eyes is just as strong as the one waved beneath my unlit cigarette. “Choose mine!” they all seem to say with their insistent hands and debonair smiles.

    The metal, so cool against my skin, reminds me of what needs to be done, yet these men, so superficial in their need to prove their worth, so courageous against uncertainty, tickle that feeling inside of me, that need for warm, sticky red, but ignore it I must…until he comes.

    Those men, they part, so fluid in their haste, as he makes his way over, his steps soft against the smooth wood. “Gentlemen,” he says, barely above a whisper. “Leave the lady in peace.”

    Once again, beaten by the best, they turn their backs until it’s only his shining ambers that remain. The single flame he ignites so close to my skin as I inhale the sweet smoke, listening as he says, “What’s your name?”

    A tilt of the head. A flip of scarlet hair. Exhaling a billow of obscurity right in his face. “Mister, get me out of here and I’ll tell you just about anything.”

    He smiles, but I’m the one laughing. He thinks he’s escaping.

    Like

Leave a Comment

