Get Your Flash On Here! (week 14)

Hello Flashers, and welcome to another week of fun! I apologize for delays and not tweeting out the flashes from last week. It’s been hellacious, returning to work, promoting Hello LAlaland (oh, look, another promotion 😉 ), and all the jazz that life brings. This week is Passover (check out the great recipes I posted!), and that only adds to the exhaustion.

But enough of my whining! I have chocolate covered matzoh to eat, wine to drink, and your gorgeous words to read!

 

Our judge this week is chinchin.unicorn, and here’s a little about her: 

World traveler. Loves all. No judgement from me. Let’s have fun laughing at ourselves. I like to fancy myself a writer on the good days and a my-heel-up-your-ass-kicker on the bad. I can tolerate a lot just don’t be a dick, and we’ll get along just fine. Squishes from me to you. Can you feel them?

 

frol·ic   [frol-ik]   noun 1. merry play; merriment; gaiety; fun. 2. a merrymaking or party. 3. playful behavior or action; prank. verb (used without object), frol·icked, frol·ick·ing. 4. to gambol merrily; to play in a frisky, light-spirited manner; romp: The children were frolicking in the snow. 5. to have fun; engage in merrymaking; play merry pranks.

frol·ic
[frol-ik]
noun
1.
merry play; merriment; gaiety; fun.
2.
a merrymaking or party.
3.
playful behavior or action; prank.
verb (used without object), frol·icked, frol·ick·ing.
4.
to gambol merrily; to play in a frisky, light-spirited manner; romp: The children were frolicking in the snow.
5.
to have fun; engage in merrymaking; play merry pranks.

The important blabby stuff:

You have until Saturday at 11:59PM (MST) to get your flash in. It must be between 100-200 words, include the picture and word prompt in your post, and add your twitter handle/FB page/website link and word count in the comments.

Y’all write, I’m going to drink more wine and sleep.

3 thoughts on “Get Your Flash On Here! (week 14)

  1. Melissa Gardener
    @smalltownchicka
    200 words

    He’s sitting near the place we were frolicking when it happened. His knees are tucked in under his chin and he’s looking out into the water.

    His back muscles flex when he runs his hand through his hair and I close my eyes, seeing another time when his muscles flexed just right on this beach. That time when we both let our guard down and took what we needed from each other.

    My feet move forward and I don’t even think about my actions before dropping to my knees beside him, the sharp edges from the earth under the blanket digging into my shins.

    “It wasn’t a mistake,” I tell him, my voice confident and carefree. He thinks he took advantage of me when all he did was finally give into my wants.

    His face shifts and he’s looking at me. “But what about…?”

    I lean forward, my forearm on his shoulder and my face next to his. “That was over a long time ago.”

    As if my words finally sink in, he says, “You’re sure?”

    I press my lips to his and pull back to look in his eyes, a smile mirroring his. “Oh, yeah. For a while now.”

    Like

  2. @bonneycecily
    199 words

    “Sean, I can’t believe that after all these years we are back on this beach together, married. I remember when we were kids we use to frolic in the waves and build sand castles together, while our parents would talk and laugh. I thought you were the cutest boy in the world. But we were best-friends and I never thought you’d see me as more than that.”

    “Grace, baby back then I told myself that I was going to marry you one day. Even as a kid I knew I wanted you to be my best-friend for the rest of my life.”

    As her face lights up with joy she says, “Well husband, I think you owe your wife a nice big sand castle. I promise not to smash it with my foot this time!”

    Laughing, “Deal! Wife of mine, now sit down and rest. I want to tell our sweet pea in that beautiful belly of yours how I swooned her mommy back when she was just a little girl and myself a stubborn little boy.”

    It all began one summer day at the beach when I saw the most beautiful girl frolicking on the beach collecting seashells…

    Like

  3. @Ali_OMalley
    200 words

    I watch them frolic, and I seethe with rage. I watch them splash each other in the cold water, and the joy on their face fills me with almost uncontrollable rage. He picks her up and carries her to our picnic blanket. I grit my teeth and fist my hands in the white, summer hot sand as he kisses her smile.

    He was mine, that boy with the copper locks and the spring green eyes, but then she took him. She tempted him away with her grew-in-over-night boobs and womanly hips. She left at the end of junior year with an up and down a sexual figure like every other girl in our class, but unlike the rest of the girls she came back after summer break looking like a woman. We’ve been back at school for two weeks, and she already has everything that I had. My friends and my boyfriend, they’re hers now.

    Oh but just you wait! You’ll see. I’ll bide my time with friendly smiles and kind words, and once I’m embedded into your heart and I know all of your fears… Revenge is a dish best served cold my dear, and yours will be frozen.

    Like

Leave a Comment

