FlashFiction Results (Week 10)

kubrick

Stranger.  Noun: a (1) :  foreigner (2) :  a resident alien b :  one in the house of another as a guest, visitor, or intruder c :  a person or thing that is unknown or with whom one is unacquainted d :  one who does not belong to or is kept from the activities of a group e :  one not privy or party to an act, contract, or title :  one that interferes without right Adjective: a archaic :  of, relating to, or characteristic of another country :  foreign b :  not native to or naturally belonging in a place :  of external origin, kind, or character 2 a :  not before known, heard, or seen :  unfamiliar b :  exciting wonder or awe :  extraordinary 3 a :  discouraging familiarities :  reserved, distant b :  ill at ease 4 :  unaccustomed 2 <she was strange to his ways

We ride along to the rhythm of beating hearts and shared breaths, strangers no longer. 

The people in these pictures didn’t feel like strangers to me, but then I was already trying to write them into being before I sent them off to Madi. When I picked these prompts, “strangers on a train” you might say, I couldn’t wait to see how you all felt the movement of the pictures and the relationships of their subjects. You delivered. Damn, did you deliver.

I want to thank Madi for hosting this every week. It’s a wonderful exercise in creativity and gives us all a sounding board for our ideas. Thank you so much! And thanks to all of you who flashed me. * winks I enjoyed every minute of it!

On to the judging notes:

Nicole I want your lady in the night to know love. I want her to see that the addiction she worships is a cold and brutal lover. You made me want to see her claw her way above it and still hope that someday she actually might. I enjoyed the lilt of the alliteration in the first graph as well – “she shimmies…sequins swish…sway.” Bravo!

Packy Pie, oh, Packy. “I fear the moment I let her go will be the moment I detonate.” You had me in the opening lines and by the time I got to that one, I was a goner. You’ve managed to give me just enough here to have me salivating for more. It’s a complete story, maybe the oldest story, about trust and love and personal demons. I neeeeed more.

Dusty Britches, you beautifully illustrated the word prompt and the first photo prompt. I feel like I’m there, back then, and the use of certain cue words, like “lamb” and “bulletin” help put me there. Salinger would approve, because this guy is obviously no phony.

Jdifrans, you really outdid yourself here, dearest. Two stories! Count ‘em, two! I love them, but it’s the second one that shines to me. From that first graph that pulls me in to the web of this woman’s messed up past, to the last line that helps me believe she will rise above, it sings. There’s a rhythm to it that sticks hard and tough like her, almost like poetry. LOVE.

Sarah Elizabeth, I really like your wordplay here. It reads like sunshine, warm and constant. I had some difficulty with the dropping of all capital letters. I had to go back and reread and sort of force myself to ignore that, but I’m glad I did because Aldous and his girl are worth it. I don’t know how they found one another, but I’d love to find out!

This was tough, really tough. There’s not a bad one in the bunch, but I’m going to have to call it for Packy Pie!!!!!!!!!!! I can’t let your characters go either – him or her. That makes you twice a winner now, right? You may have to start giving us all lessons!

From Madi:

Thank you so much for judging this week! It was a lot of fun!

Since Packy Pie has judged before, we’ll need a runner up.
After our judge gives me a runner up, I’ll get in touch with them to get the ball rolling for the next flash fic!

Leave a Comment

