When fingers hurt and coffee doesn’t work, but your writing buddy pushes you further:

I started last Monday off with 34,531 words in Message to New York.

I ended the week last night with 54.631 words.

In five days of writing, that’s absurdly enormous.

 

There’s something to be said about writing with a partner – a person with a similar goal in mind and a plate full of wordage for their own masterpiece. Eryn LaPlant, my writing pal and one of the best friends I could ever ask for, has been a huge help to me. We push each other to be better. We challenge each other. While there’s no *real* competition, it’s a constant “I did 1054 words” versus “I did 1103,” and it’s a hell of an adventure.

So, I say a gigantic THANK YOU to this awesome woman who keeps me working my ass off.

 

And she isn’t alone. I have this editor, this BEST TWINSIE in the world, who is my brainstorm partner and an enthusiast for my writing. Kimberly, I thank you so much for the bluntness, the encouragement, the unending drive to make me write better. The time spent with you was amazing, and I can’t wait to get a chance to do it all the time.

 

I was supposed to be writing in Message to New York right now. Eryn, you can yell at me if you want, but my coffee didn’t wake me up and the tylenol hasn’t helped my fingers yet.

Maybe I wasted 300 words here, praising the ladies who push me further and further to be better? Perhaps. But more likely, I paid a well deserved due to their wonderful friendship. Three hundred words would never be enough to say thanks for all the encouragement.

 

Now, I’d better get back to it. Words don’t write themselves and masterpieces rarely fall from the sky.

On second thought, I need a macchiato.

 

Leave a Comment

