A Bit of Flashing Will Take You Far.

Rules: Write 100-200 words (a poems, a story, a song) based on the given photo and word prompt. Make sure to include the word prompt in your flash.

Please post in the comments section with your name or twitter handle and your word count.

Deadline is Friday, January 10 at 11:59 PM.

Here we go…

WORD PROMPT pu·ri·fy  [pyoor-uh-fahy]   verb (used with object), pu·ri·fied, pu·ri·fy·ing. 1. to make pure; free from anything that debases, pollutes, adulterates, or contaminates: to purify metals. 2. to free from foreign, extraneous, or objectionable elements: to purify a language. 3. to free from guilt or evil. 4. to clear or purge (usually followed by of  or from  ). 5. to make clean for ceremonial or ritual use.

WORD PROMPT
pu·ri·fy [pyoor-uh-fahy]
verb (used with object), pu·ri·fied, pu·ri·fy·ing.
1.
to make pure; free from anything that debases, pollutes, adulterates, or contaminates: to purify metals.
2.
to free from foreign, extraneous, or objectionable elements: to purify a language.
3.
to free from guilt or evil.
4.
to clear or purge (usually followed by of or from ).
5.
to make clean for ceremonial or ritual use.

And…GO!

Dedicated to Kimberly.

5 thoughts on “A Bit of Flashing Will Take You Far.

  1. Word count: 100 words, on the nose
    Twitter handle: @AnnaLund2011

    ~~~~~~~~~

    You ran. And then you ran harder.

    Because the pain that propelled you—never looking back—that purified pain fuelled your engine and made you roar.

    You saw two arms opened so wide, the very chest of their owner cracked.

    The epic sound of your crash as it turned into a tackle hug.

    That crack was your way in, and nobody would ever be able to get you out of there again.

    Safe, in those arms, you could finally relax.

    Mend your broken pieces. Take a deep breath. Smile a tentative smile.

    Safe. In my arms.

    I’ve got you, now.

    ~~~~~~~~~

    Like

  2. Word count:157

    Twitter: sandyquill

    = = =

    She never wore white.

    “The last time I wore it, I was ruined,” she whispered to me. My heart broke to see her dry, aching eyes, so filled with brokenness and pain. “Will you marry me anyway?”

    I wanted to cry, but smiled instead. “Sweetheart, what you wear isn’t important. Come naked. I won’t mind.”

    Her chuckle flooded me with warmth. “Hold me.”

    Wrapping my arms around her slender frame, I clung to her as tightly as she to me. “You’ve never been ruined, honey,” I whispered over her hair. “You’ve purified me with the trust you give.”

    She sniffled, burrowing her head into my shoulder. “I’ll try to believe you.”

    “I’ll remind you every day.”

    The sun set over the trees and still I held her against me. The two of us fit perfectly together.

    And on the day when we gave our vows to one another, I knew she finally believed me.

    She wore white.

    = = =

    Like

  3. It wasn’t quick,
    The damage far too much,
    But slowly,
    Your love,
    In its pureness,
    Its selflessness,
    Began working,
    Weaving the torn spots,
    Gluing the cracks,
    Repairing my heart.

    Each word,
    Every thought,
    All the affection,
    Healed my tattered soul.

    I feel the sun again.
    I see the magic in the night sky once more.
    I am stronger than ever.
    My compassion is renewed.
    My hope restored.
    My joy starts in your smile.
    I am whole.
    I am me once more.
    Your love, my cure.

    Your arms have become my home.
    Your heart where I want to dwell.
    My heart’s mate.

    101 words
    @melfin80

    Like

  4. To you.

    I remember the days I gave you everything.

    Except it didn’t feel like I gave, It felt like you kept taking whatever you could get your hands on until there was nothing left of me.

    I was pure. You were sin.

    It hurt the day you laughed as I spilled my heart like the tears that fell down my face.

    You never knew how to love and I thought I could change that.

    I realized that was silly the moment I met the man I was destined for. He is nothing like you. Where you were dark he is bright. Where you scowled and smirked he laughs and smiles. Where you weighed me down he lifts me up.

    Just by the way he holds me I know he’s good. His touch purifies me.

    Your arms felt like a vice, squeezing me until there was nothing left. His arms are secure as they help keep in all the broken pieces of myself.

    He makes me whole again.

    He makes me believe in love.

    Thank you for being so evil, without that I would never have found my true love.

    I don’t hate you, I pity you.

    Words: 197
    @TinsleyWarren

    Like

  5. Leaving Aggie behind was the hardest thing I’d ever had to do. Tragedy had brought us together one fateful day two years ago, and we hadn’t been apart since. She had lost her father, and I my mother. Drawn together by sharing grief, within hours, we began sharing much more.

    We both yearned to feel alive and were desperate to culminate our loss into something carnal. For two days we healed each other, attempting to glue our hearts back together. We made love, we talked, ate, made love, showered, made love, held hands at the funerals, made love, hugged each other intensely. Within two weeks we had moved in together. Immediately, it felt like we belonged together. Not only physically, or amicably, but completely.

    I wrote songs about us, and now my band was going on a national tour. For the first time since we met, I was leaving. It completely wrecked me, but she was so strong, telling me how proud she was. I dropped to my knees and asked her to marry me.

    She said yes; then hugged me tight.

    “You’ve purified me,” I whispered before claiming her lips.

    @LouiseClark75, 191 words

    Like

Leave a Comment

